The year that was and the year that will be…….

Just when I thought NACC couldn’t get any busier or be juggling anymore balls, we decided to add in the Annual Regional NRM Leadership Awards for good measure.

Congratulations! To absolutely everybody who is involved in NRM in our region the celebrations this week reminded me why our industry is so fantastic. Not only is the work we support critically important, but the people who do it are the most wonderful kind of people. Passionate, generous and humble.

On Monday, NACC held its Annual General Meeting with a modest turn out of faithful NACC supporters who wanted to hear about the year that was, and the year that will be. Those in attendance were treated to an unwaveringly candid presentation by the NACC Chair Dr Rob Keogh, followed by the upbeat double act of Richard and myself – who chose to present the CEO’s report as a duo. At the conclusion of the CEO’s report, I unveiled the 2018 online Annual report which can be found here.


After the AGM it was a quick turn-around as the team went into Awards mode. This year the emphasis was on you, the steadfast community who have been carrying on achieving amazing things in your local environments, despite the challenges. It was an honour to recognise all of our finalists in the four categories for this year:

  • Inspiring Junior NRM Leadership
  • Aboriginal NRM Community Group
  • Outstanding NRM Community Group
  • Individual NRM Leadership

This year the wins were tightly contested across the board and while there can only be one winner, the region is the real winner, as the beneficiary of all the amazing work that these groups and individuals do.

Special congratulations to our winners:

  • Inspiring Junior NRM Leadership – Leaning Tree Steiner School for their Waste Free Spring Fair initiative and their involvement in NACC’s Enviro-Stories project amongst many other activities.
  • Aboriginal NRM Community Group – Malleefowl Monitoring Masters who have been working with Bush Heritage Australia (BHA) to undertake Malleefowl monitoring on BHA properties in the NAR and working to collect, record and appropriate transfer traditional ecological knowledge
  • Outstanding NRM Community Group – Moore Catchment Council for all of their amazing efforts during the year, but particularly in recognition of their Last Stand event held in September.
  • Individual NRM Leadership – Brendon Haeusler. It might not be a surprise to some, but this is Brendon’s second award for the year. He was also crowned Soil Health Champion at the Talkin’ Soil Health Conference in March for his significant contribution to the regenerative agriculture space and the leadership he is showing in the Carnamah community through the newly invigorated Carnamah LCDC.

We were also fortunate enough to have eight nominations for the NRM Leadership Honour Roll with all of these individuals and their countless hours of service now being recorded on our Honour Roll board.

Congratulations to Marieke Jansen, Peter Wittwer, Alan Howitt, Michael Payne, Wendy Payne, Richard McLellan, Ian Pulbrook and Wally Kerkhof.

I can’t finish off talking about the awards without mentioning our incredibly supporting sponsors two of whom have been involved in the awards since they started in 2016. Special thanks to Geraldton Community Bank branch of Bendigo Bank, our Gold sponsor for 2018 and to Regional Development Australia Midwest and Gascoyne, our Silver Sponsor. We also thank Carbon Neutral for sponsoring the Aboriginal NRM Leadership Award category.

The awards will be back again in 2019 recognising more great contributions across the region. So keep your ear to the ground and your eyes peeled for deserving nominees, and get your submissions in when the online portal opens May 2019.

Best wishes
Katherine Allen
General Manager, NACC

Related Posts

Leave a reply