Accolades to winners of inaugural Regional NRM Leadership Awards

Media Release

18 October 2016

The future sustainability of the region took centre stage at the inaugural Regional NRM Leadership Awards conducted in Geraldton last night.

Almost 100 people attended the 2016 awards – presented by the Northern Agricultural Catchments Council (NACC) and Central Regional TAFE – to recognise outstanding achievements and contributions to Natural Resource Management (NRM) in the Northern Agriculural Region of Western Australia.

On-ground outcomes, capacity-building and community engagement were the key foci in several of the organisations and projects that won awards on the night.

Seven categories were presented at these inaugural awards, with the major award – 2016 Outstanding NRM Award – presented to the Australian Wildlife Conservancy for their community engagement and conservation management at Mt Gibson Wildlife Sanctuary.

Janet Richards from Ledge Point took out the equivalent individual category as the winner of the 2016 NRM Leadership Award for her coordinating role at Ledge Point Coastcare Group which has included crucial revegetation and protect works at Ledge Point since 2008.

Each category winner took home a beautiful hand-made trophy crafted with traditional Aboriginal methods by Badimia man Vaughan Lane and Wilinyu woman Donna Ronan.

A number the region’s long serving NRM champions were also saluted on the night with their names added to a new Regional NRM Leadership Honour Roll as an accolade to their contribution to land and sea stewardship in the region over many years.

NACC CEO Richard McLellan said “It was an honour for NACC to be able to recognise not only the current champions of natural resource management in our region through these awards, but also the many other individuals who have made significant contributions to NRM over the years”.

“We have some amazing people in our community and beyond who work tirelessly to protect, manage and restore our natural assets on behalf of all of us,” he said.

“NACC looks forward to adding more names to the Honour Roll next year – our 20th anniversary year – and to further recognising the hundreds of people in our region who volunteer their time and effort so generously.”

Winners of the 2016 Regional NRM Leadership Awards

Green Primary School Award

Chapman Valley Primary School

Green Secondary School Award

Jurien Bay District High School

Inspiring Junior NRM Leadership Award

Rheece Turner

NRM Innovation in Conservation and Engagement Award

Australian Wildlife Conservancy

NRM Coordinator Leadership Award

Rachel Walmsley

NRM Leadership Award

Janet Richards

Outstanding NRM Group Award

Australian Wildlife Conservancy

Names added to the ‘Regional NRM Leadership Honour Roll’

Alan Bradley

Alison Doley

Chris King

Craig Forsyth

David Brindal

David Rickson

Don Williams

Elizabeth Eaton

Fiona Falconer

Jenna Brooker

Jim Wedge

John Braid

John Longman

Max Hudson

Micheal Bates

Mike Clarke

Nic Dunlop

Paul Findlater

Paul Robb

Shane Love

Shelley Spriggs

Stuart McAlpine

Sue Middleton

Tim Wiley

Viv Read

Related Posts

Leave a reply